Fan Poll: The best player NOT in the NLL; semi-final time

Ryan Hotaling
Ryan Hotaling

It’s down to the final four competitors in IL Indoor’s Fan Poll to determine who you believe is the best player NOT in the National Lacrosse League and Ryan Hotaling is making a Cinderella run. He upset Ryan Campbell in the preliminary round and this week he downed Jerome Thompson to reach the semi-finals. His challenge now will be another potent offensive force. Dylan Llord–another who had to win a preliminary round just to reach the quarters, knocked out the top-rated defender, number 2 seed Colin Boucher. The other semi sees goalie Scott Komer facing defender Ian Poole. So we have a complete set with one forward, one tranny, one D and one keeper facing off this week to see who reaches the final. Make your choice after the jump.

Dylan Llord (7) vs Ryan Hotaling (11)

Hotaling is gearing up for the Boston Rockhoppers season to start in January, but so far a lot of you think he should be taking a step up from the North American Lacrosse League, back in the NLL where he spent two years with another Beantown team: the Blazers. Llord, whose brother Ian was a Bandit and is now trying to crack the defending champion Knighthawks roster as a defender, carries the torch for the offensive players.

Who is the better player NOT in the National Lacrosse League?

  • Ryan Hotaling (61%, 5,443 Votes)
  • Dylan Llord (39%, 3,468 Votes)

Total Voters: 8,911

Loading ... Loading ...

Ian Poole (5) vs Scotty Komer (9)

They’re both adept at keeping opposing teams from scoring. Poole had a shot with the Colorado Mammoth but was released last week. Komer is still in the running for a job in Philadelphia’s crease. Who goes on to the final?

Who is the better player NOT in the National Lacrosse League?

  • Scotty Komer (58%, 55,564 Votes)
  • Ian Poole (42%, 40,231 Votes)

Total Voters: 95,626

Loading ... Loading ...

The contenders

1. Jesse Guerin
2. Colin Boucher
3. Jerome Thompson
4. Brad Favero
5. Ian Poole
6. Ryan Campbell
7. Dylan Llord
8. Mitch Barnard
9. Scotty Komer
10. Ben McCullough
11. Ryan Hotaling
12. Travis Bland

Previous rounds in the competition

Quarter finals 3 & 4
Quarter finals 1 & 2

First round, third and fourth polls

First round, first two polls

Stamp is a TV sports announcer and lacrosse lover whose skill set made him a defender but who always dreamed of being a goal-scorer. He can be reached at

Rate This Story:

Vote This Post DownVote This Post Up (+1 rating, 7 votes)
Loading ... Loading ...